366 Days of Photos

21 January 2012

 

There are a few things in life that tug at some weird string inside me – located slightly above my stomach. Abandoned, derelict buildings are one of them. A good door is another. Who can resist a good door? If you don’t know what I’m talking about – you never will. I once got so excited by a door in Paris that I actually squealed out loud and had my photo taken with it.

This photograph is of my favourite door in Nottingham, which I walked past today.

This entry was published on January 21, 2012 at 4:01 pm. It’s filed under January and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

25 thoughts on “21 January 2012

  1. It’s the character of the door ~ I never thought of it like that, but you’re right. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love it! (And share your love for things abandoned and distressed.)

  3. BoJo Photo on said:

    I love old things as well as they have proven character! Great photo and subject!

  4. I love the texture of old bricks – am going to go and hunt some out and add to my blog this week – thanks for the inspiration : )

  5. I am convinced though that passion makes a difference. The doors are singing a song to you that the rest of us do not hear. It reflects in your photo too. I experience the same with my pictures – I can tell when I look at them when the siren song was there and when it wasn’t. From my readers comments, they feel the passion in my pictures too.

  6. Sumaira on said:

    I totally relate to the emotions about doors..! šŸ™‚

  7. Daniel Sim on said:

    An old door has many written past. Just look at the markings, dents and scratches. Great picture!

  8. agirlcalledkim on said:

    I also absolutely love abandoned buildings. I’d LOVE to go inside some abandoned hospital or something to take photos…. that would be awesome.

    Great photo too, love the detail of the texture šŸ™‚

  9. I agree with you about some kind of string tugging at my insides when I come across doors, old buildings, old glass bottles, unique tiny shells on the beach…those are just a few:)

  10. This is gorgeous, and I am glad I know what you mean to love a good door. Any color would have been nice but this navy-blue of sorts definitely does it justice!

  11. Ooh I love the texture, colors and history that shows through the nails in the wood! šŸ™‚
    Nice!

  12. Chef Pamela on said:

    Any chance of sharing that delightful Parisian door? I’d love to see it!

  13. A very interesting and beautiful door. Great shot! I love abandoned and old buildings too.

  14. Leslie Holt on said:

    Thank you for sharing this lovely photo and for your question, “Who can resist a good door?” My Mom’s been in love with ‘good doors’ for as long as I can remember and as a fine artist has passed this along to her family. Thank you for your gift that I will share with her today!

  15. I also love doors. Some of them are so beautiful and have their own magical story… Very nice shot!

  16. I love how you can see every detail of the door, it certainly is exquisite. Just wondering, what kind of camera do you use to take your photos?

  17. I absolutely love it and share your love for doors!

  18. Thanks! I love the door in this photo.. and the face and character of the door. Beautiful. Love old doors! I love all doors!

  19. Doors make perfect subjects, don’t they?

  20. Neuromancer on said:

    I adore photographs of urban decay and aged wood is such a great subject. I love the textures and colours in this photo, great stuff.

  21. Reblogged this on Crazy Happenstance and commented:
    i share the affinity for old buildings. derelict downtowns are filled with gorgeous possibility in my mind.

  22. Pingback: Elvis and Passion « Living The Seasons

  23. scribblegurl on said:

    Heck yes, doors. Bring ’em on! I am loving this blog, btw. You are knocking it outta the park!

Leave a Reply

