366 Days of Photos

04 June 2012

Alot of my subscribers aren’t from the UK, so I’m not sure if the news has reached across the water yet, but this weekend is the Queens Diamond Jubilee. This means the entire of the UK has gone union jack, bunting, red, white and blue flippin’ crazy.

I’m not a big one for celebrating this kind of thing – I’m getting quite cynical and sarcastic in my old age, I’m just grateful for the extra 2 days off work (oh yes, thank you Queenie!) but I thought this lazy Monday I’d hunt for some street parties. After a good 15 minute search on Google, I managed to find a list of registered Street parties – you have to register them with the council you see, no spontaneous, unplanned partying allowed!

I made my way toย Wynndale Drive, Sherwood. Here I found the road closed off, a fire engine and its crew joining in a long street party. A huge row of tables down the middle of the street filled with food and crowds of neighbours and children having a great time, despite the black clouds looming above them. People said hello, smiled and even offered food as I, the complete stranger tip toed into the street with my huge camera.

As I looked around and saw these people of all ages, colour and creed joined together I did feel a tingling sense national pride coming on and my faith in the human race was restored. ย So to celebrate not just the Queen but these lovely people of Blighty, I’m giving them a whole feature of photos.

This entry was published on June 4, 2012 at 1:08 pm. It’s filed under June and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

17 thoughts on “04 June 2012

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I’m from Canada so of course we know of the jubilee, though in Quebec we’re not big on celebrating the Queen. There was a special feature in our weekend newspaper and I have to say I read it with interest. Whatever our feelings about the Royals, it is a big accomplishment. And anything that brings people on the street to party has to be a good thing.

  2. I love following your photos and the variety of them is fantastic. My wife is English so we had a little Jubilee celebration in Costa Rica, I must show these to her!

  3. Great pictures – I saw the first one and went “wow”! I especially love # 1, 4, and 9.

  4. buck clarke on said:

    Clare:
    From one cynic to another – sometimes it’s enough just to have some fun! And fun is evident in each and every one of your posted photos. It’s sweet to see a country caught up in the celebration of something so symbolic as the monarchy. It’s fun for us over in the U.S. also!

  5. Very nice series. Even cynics can have some fun, eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Great photos! A lovely air of fun and celebration. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Fab photos! Looks like a great celebration. And yes, the news have definitely reached us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Cool series! Especially love #s 1, 6, and 8.

  9. Great shots here. You make it look really festive, and i suppose it is that way too.

  10. Thanks for the theme. Photo’s are great, love the flags and must say I love the photo of the awesome hat.

  11. verosupertramp85 on said:

    I am from Venezuela and I did not a little bit about the Queenยดs celebration. However your pictures and description made think a lot about how the Dutch celebrate the Queen. I love your pictures!

Leave a Reply

